Excited – or is that Terrified?


For the most part my manuscript is done.

Wait. Let’s rephrase that.

It’s written but far from done. Tomorrow, I start the exciting journey of editing. Making this cherished work that has consumed every spare moment into a living breathing entity. One that agents and readers alike will enjoy.

I am so excited!

I have beta readers who helped me along the way (bless each and every one of you) and their suggestion have made my scenes stronger and tighter. Now, I get to work with a professional editor and four other classmates to polish it.

Ok, maybe terrified is a better word.

If my heart doesn’t quit jumping every time I start thinking about what could possibly go wrong, I think I’ll be ok. I think.

I am so excited to see what I will learn. There is still much about writing that I don’t know that at times it gets a bit overwhelming. I am hoping this class will show me some of the things I have done instinctively are correct. Maybe I know more than I think. Let’s hope so.

No writer should believe that every thing they write is perfect. At least not if they want to become better writers. On the flip side, you have to have confidence in your writing style, your voice. Listen to constructive criticism (ignore the hateful type, it isn’t worth your time). Really look at what they are telling you and then decide if it fits your writing vision. Many times, the suggestions (and that is all they really are) will make your story stronger. Sometimes they won’t.

Listen, but don’t lose your voice. It is after all, your story and you have the the right to do one simple thing.

Say no.

I hope I can follow this advise. Remain true to my voice, yet listen to advice from other writers and professionals.

Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Excited – or is that Terrified?

  1. judeellis says:

    It’s nice to see that you have learned to fight back and say no when suggestions don’t fit your vision. Keep writing. I want more

  2. Kira Decker says:

    Thanks! It’s been a hard thing to learn but, I feel better knowing that I can say it.

Leave a Reply

