Sitting on your hands – Reading your work without editing


I have been married over 20 years and have three wonderful, although at times, tasking children (Four if you count my hubby and I often do). Through the years I have laughed and cried through the trials of my life. And I have the grey streaks to prove it.

However, I never thought it would be so hard to read through my manuscript WITHOUT EDITING IT!

That’s my current assignment. Read – Don’t edit. Only use pen and paper to note changes.

Yikes! Someone get the Gorilla Glue to keep my hands away from the keyboard (sitting on them keeps putting them to sleep). Yes, I admit it. I am one of those that edits as I write. Usually it’s not a big deal. I tend to backup a chapter and re-read through it to get me back into the story so I can write the next chapter or scene. I might make minor changes as I read through. Ok yeah, sometimes I get totally distracted and rewrite a section.

I didn’t think this would be a hard assignment. I. WAS. WRONG!

I had to break down and get an e-reader. It helped…a little.

I feel like a little kid. The best way to get a kid interested in something is to tell them they can’t do it. It instantly becomes the forbidden fruit. A must have item or activity that they find someway, anyway, to get to it. I have been good…mostly.

Thank the Spirits for my writing partner. She smacked my hands away from the keyboard and yelled at me. I am now most of the way through my assignment.

So, for those of you going through the same stage – I feel for you. For those of you getting ready to get there – find a writing partner or two to help keep you in line (you’ll need them!) For those of you who have done this already – WHY didn’t you warn me?

I NEVER thought I’d say this…but I can’t wait to get back to editing!

2 thoughts on “Sitting on your hands – Reading your work without editing

  1. Lois Hoffman says:

    I feel your pain! Fortunately, as a picture book writer I don’t have to control myself for long, but it’s still hard!

  2. Kira Decker says:

    Thanks Lois! I am learning, but boy is it hard!

Leave a Reply

